Blantyre Thistle 1967

Blantyre's Ain Website

Blantyre, Lanarkshire, Scotland

Blantyre Football Teams

Blantyre Thistle 1967

Blantyre Thistle were an amateur team formed in 1966 by Henry McCarroll (Dendy), who was also the first manager.

The team started life in the 4th division, of the Lanarkshire Amateur league, and by 1970 had won straight promotion through each league to reach the 1st division.

The photograph was taken in the Parkville hotel, and was at the club’s presentation night, where they were presented with the 4th division winners trophy, by world champion boxer Walter McGowan.

The players shown are:

Back Row: left to right. George Longmuir, John Agnew, Pat Cleary, Billy Burns, Tam Milligan, Sam Wood and Danny McDougal.

Centre row:  Joe Stoney, Hugh Swan, James Robertson, John Gorrance, Henry McCarroll (manager)

Front row:   Jimmy Perrie, Davy French, Terry Murphy, Bill McMahon, Walter McGowan, Bill Kelly, Pat McGaulley and Jock McCarroll.

Pat McGaulley has been resident in Canada since the early 1970’s, and has been back home a few times recently.

There are a few of this team who still keep in regular touch, and are hoping (if we get enough feedback) to have a reunion this year, so if there is anyone out there who played in this team, or are acquaintances of any of the players, could you please get in touch with John (Jock) McCarroll  at Email:

Recognize Anyone? Tell Bill


Blantyre, Lanarkshire, Scotland

Back to home

Right to next page

Site Designed & Maintained by:
minisymbol21“In Pursuit of Excellence”

Copyright © Symbol Internet Marketing 2003 – 2023